The Single Biggest Mistake Made on the Stair Climber


I saw it, and I cringed.

Actually, every time I’m at the gym, I see it.

Chances are, you’re guilty of it.

And, each time I see it, I die a little inside.

Are you listening?

Because, I’m talking to you.

You’re killing me.

And, I’m begging you to stop.

You all probably know by now that I’m not a huge fan of the elliptical machine. And, as long as I’m airing my grievances (it’s Festivus!), I’m not a huge fan of the treadmill, either.

From a workout standpoint, an aerobic standpoint, I think they’re a complete waste of time. The reason I’m not a huge fan of these machines is because these machines totally shut down true, proper hip function. With the elliptical machine, you’re staying, for the most part, in hip flexion the entire time, never truly getting to full hip extension.

When you’re on the treadmill and you place your foot in front of you, you aren’t required to use any hip, hamstring, or glute function to get that leg back behind you. Instead, the conveyor-belt action of the treadmill passively moves your leg back.

Well, you can now add another hated machine to this list: The Stair Climber. While I think there are actually some functional benefits to this machine–you’re getting closer to true hip extension, for example–this is what I saw at the gym the other day:

FullSizeRender

Anyone notice anything strange? Does anything look “off” to you?

Does anyone…ANYONE…walk up their stairs flexed at the waist, arms externally rotates so their hands are pointing in the complete opposite direction, with nearly their full body weight on the hand rails?

Yeeeeah…I didn’t think so…

But, yet, THAT is what I see.

Every day.

Friends…why? Why would you train this way? Why would you ask your body to do a motion that you’d never do in your normal day-to-day life? Why get dysfunctionally stronger? It doesn’t. Make. Sense.

Honestly, if you’re working out like that on the stair climber, I think you’re wasting your time.

These ladies are getting zero hip extension, and they are working overboard with their upper bodies. And, yet, they wonder why they can’t lose the pear-shape they see staring back at them in the mirror. Their neck pain and migraines are out of control. They are frustrated with their bodies, and they think the answer is to spend more time on the stair climber.

Well, guess what?

That’s not the answer.

The answer is to get the body functional and to ask it to do functional movements while working out. These ladies need to bend, twist, squat, lift, push, duck, jump, climb over, and go under…all during the course of their workout. If those movements happened, they would not only increase hip function, they would also decrease pain, lose weight, improve their mood, increase their metabolic rate…the list goes on and on.

Stop wasting your time in the gym. It’s time to get functional! You deserve to get some benefit from all the time you invest in yourself.

If you’re ready to get the most out of your workouts, click below and begin your journey to a functional, pain free life!

4 Free E-cises Updated

Or, if you’d like me to take a look at you either in-person or via Skype, click below to set up a 30-minute consult!

Consult Updated

QUESTION: What’s your favorite way to exercise when you’re at the gym?

