A Yo-Yo on an Escalator


escalator 2

Just the other day, a client and I were talking about chronic pain and the overall “process” of things. We were discussing how overcoming chronic pain can be, at times, an up-and-down experience. Some days are good days. Some days are bad days. Some days you can actually think straight. Other days your mind is so foggy you aren’t sure that one and one equal two.

For some of you, I’m sure thinking about having a “good day” seems like a pipe dream. Perhaps your current condition is similar to where I was back in the mid-90s, simply hoping for a good moment, a good hour. As my client and I were discussing the ebbs and flows of pain relief, he said something that was so profound, and I thought was SO good, that I quickly wrote it down so I could share it with you.

He said, “You know, the Egoscue process is, at times, like playing with a yo-yo while you’re on an escalator. I know I’m trending upwards, so I’m ok with the little ups-and-downs.”

Are you tracking with what he said? He’s saying that, while he occasionally still has discomfort (the yo-yo), he’s closer to his goal now, compared to when he started (he’s on the escalator).

chickenlittleIt’s true that we, as humans, are wired to think about the negative. On a daily basis we see horror stories on the news, read about them on Twitter, and discuss them on Facebook. We are told that the sky is falling, and, often times, we believe it.

Don’t believe me, Chicken Little?

When was the last time (other than Christmas) that you received a gift from someone?

Having to think about it a little bit, aren’t you?

Now–When was the last time you got in an argument?

Were you able to answer that one a little quicker?

I thought so!

But, don’t feel bad. It’s just what we do. Typically, the “negative” is on the forefront of our minds, not only with what’s happening in society around us but also with what’s happening in our own body.

If you’re ready to focus on the “positive,” download our Four Free E-cises now!

Free e-cise Button

Unfortunately, recalling our good moments are much more difficult to do. Both time and energy are needed to recall them, and that’s something that many folks walking around just don’t have! However, the client I was talking with was able to get away from the “negative.” Yes, he was still hurting from time-to-time (the negative), but he was able to put things in perspective, focusing on the overall improvement he had made. He was able to change his perspective. While his yo-yo might have been at its low point, he was still higher on the escalator than he had been previously.

It takes work to focus on the positive. Trust me, I know. When you’re in pain, there isn’t a lot of head-space left to focus on much else. You have to intentionally step back and look at the big picture. Stop and think: Are you exactly where you were 2 months ago? Six months ago? Three years ago?

If you’re an Egoscue client, I can say with almost 100% certainty that you are different today than you were when you started the process. Some of you might have to really stop and think about where you are currently, but I believe that as you go through this process, your body has NO choice but to improve.

If you need to, take a step back and analyze the entire situation: Are you focusing on the yo-yo? Or, are you focusing on the escalator?

Ready to change your perspective? Schedule a FREE consult with John today!

free-consultation-btn

