Coming Out of the Fog


Fog

 

I enjoy fog. It might sound weird, I know, but I think it’s kind of cool. I think there’s a mystique, a mystery, about it. At times, I even consider it to be calming.

As I sat at my kitchen table one early morning last week reading and working, I looked out the window and saw it. Hovering low, barely touching the treetops, it was blanketing everything around it, covering our neighborhood, distorting reality.

I stared out the window for a couple minutes, totally engrossed with the scene in front of me, when it hit me — I used to be in that fog. No, not literally in the fog outside the window, but in the figurative fog that comes along with chronic pain.

I couldn’t see clearly.

My eyes were covered.

My reality was distorted.

Heck, I couldn’t even think straight.

Things that were right in front of me were hidden from plain sight.

When I was 14, 15, 16 years old, chronic pain had consumed me. It was forever on my mind. It was constantly there. There was never a day when I wasn’t walking around with a distorted view of reality because of the “fog.” And, I know that there are many of you reading this who are experiencing the same thing. The fog outside my window last week was soothing, however the fog of chronic pain causes chaos. There is nothing soothing about it.

Pain not only consumes us physically, but it also impacts us emotionally and mentally. It affects our relationships. It derails our goals. It changes our mood. Simply put, we end up in a “fog.”

Egoscue brought me out of the fog. When my pain was gone, I could think clearer, see better, focus more intently. Everything changed. I could envision my future life, and it included being active. I could see myself playing college baseball. I could imagine playing with my kids. My vision was no longer distorted.

It’s time for the fog to lift. It’s time for you to get your life back. You deserve it. You need it. You’re ready for it.

Start today. Take the next few minutes and download our Four Free E-cises. The fog will begin to lift. You’ll see clearly. Reality will no longer be distorted. You’ll get your life back.

QUESTION: How long have you been in the fog?

