The Old-Age Myth


Multiple times every week, clients come through our doors having been told that their chronic pain is due to age. They hear things like, “you’re just getting older,” “it’s just a natural part of the aging process,” or “it’s just normal wear and tear for someone your age.”

While these are common reasons given for why someone is in pain, I don’t believe them to be true. Rather, I believe that these clients, and you if you’ve heard something similar, have been misled. I don’t believe pain has anything to do with age. Actually, I know for a fact that your knees have NO idea how old they are. In fact, the only part of your body that knows how old you are is your mind! I believe that when it comes looking for a cause of chronic pain, age is given WAY more credit than it’s due.

I love asking clients the question, How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were? It seems silly, but it’s a genuine question. And, it’s one you might think about differently after watching this video:

QUESTION: What’s your opinion about age as a cause of chronic pain?

