A Child’s Take on Crossfit


Generally speaking, I’m not a huge fan of CrossFit. Yes, it’s a great workout. Yes, it will kick your butt. But, I believe there’s a high likelihood that you’ll get hurt. While I don’t believe CrossFit is injuring everyone who walks in the gym door (that’s like saying everyone who plays football will end up with mashed potatoes for brains), I do hear about CrossFit injuries all time. When clients come in and I ask about how they hurt their knee, or shoulder, or back, I often get a response that starts with, “Well, I was doing a CrossFit workout, and…”

Each time I work with an injured CrossFit-er, I see a dysfunctional body that is being asked to do extreme movements. The body fatigues, it gets more and more compromised, can’t sustain the proper form during the movement, and the athlete ends up injured.

An example of a ridiculous CrossFit move.

An example of a ridiculous CrossFit move.

I’ve blogged about CrossFit before and one particular reason why I don’t like it. Others have blogged about “CrossFit’s Dirty Little Secret.” But, today, I want to blog about why YOU don’t actually like it. Even though you go multiple times each week, if you’re honest with yourself, you’ll admit that you don’t really like it. You say you do, but you don’t. Come on, be honest. I’m that way with triathlons. I say I love them, but I really don’t. Triathlons, like CrossFit, are work, and nobody likes work. What we do like is playing.

I’m sure we’ve all heard the saying, “From the mouths of babes.” Basically, kids will say anything, and if we really listen, chances are from time-to-time, we’ll pick up something incredibly insightful. That’s exactly what happened to me the other day regarding CrossFit.

I was working with a client earlier in the week who brought his granddaughter with him to the clinic. She LOVES doing Egoscue right along side her grandpa, and she’s only eight! My client has recently started doing CrossFit, and he’s in great shape. He’s dropped weight, he’s toned up, and he’s feeling a little bit better as his activity level has increased.

But it was something that is granddaughter said that got me thinking. Apparently, she does some of the CrossFit movements alongside her grandpa (as I discussed in the blog post above, I’m not a huge fan of that, but at least she’s doing Egoscue before doing CrossFit), and she was talking about how much fun she had doing it.

I mean, it’s fun for me, but it’s not fun for adults. They work too hard.

Oh, from the mouths of babes!

Interesting, huh? This little girl views CrossFit as FUN. Whereas us adults view it as WORK. Can you relate to that? I actually just blogged a couple weeks ago about Work or Play. Maybe you should read it!

This girl isn’t worried about sets, reps, her overall time. Nope. She was playing. When was the last time you approached your CrossFit workout, or any workout for that matter, as fun?

Maybe you should approach it that way today and see what changes. Don’t worry about how many rounds you go, how far you run, how quickly you do something. Instead, have FUN. Just play.

If you’re in pain from your workouts or you want to get more out of them, start by downloading our Four Free E-cises to begin the realignment process. You’ll thank yourself for it!

QUESTION: What is your favorite and least favorite thing about CrossFit?

 

