Halfway Up the Mountain


Mt Everest 2

I was talking with a client the other day who was exhausted. He was physically and mentally drained, and I could tell. I could tell that he was struggling. His pain had reappeared, his job wasn’t going well, and the stresses of everyday life were taking their toll.

As we were talking, he said, “I feel like I’m halfway up Mt. Everest. I can look back and see that I’ve come so far, but when I look ahead, it becomes instantly clear that I have a long way to go.”

Do you feel like that? I know I’ve been there. Admittedly, there have been days when I not only feel like I’m halfway up the mountain, but I feel that I’m stuck there.

Days when my hip hurts.

Days when my kids drive me crazy.

Days when I have zero energy to workout.

Days when…

Days when…

Can you relate? Maybe you can’t. Or, maybe you’re right there in the middle of it. Right there, halfway up your own mountain. 

As my client and I were talking, I was reminded of something my pastor said in a sermon a few weeks ago. He was talking about mediocracy, and said that mediocre literally means “halfway up the mountain.” No one wants to live a mediocre life, yet on those days when we feel like we’re only halfway up the mountain, that’s exactly what we are doing. We are allowing ourselves to live in that place. We have set up camp and we’re hanging out, waiting for something to happen to us or for us, waiting for something to change. We’re frozen, unable to move. We’re frozen with fear, depression, anxiety, grief. Think about those words. None of those words speak to action. Those words speak to reaction. Those are words and thoughts that take us captive.

What if, instead, you take your thoughts captive? Upgrade your mindset. Remind yourself of how far you have come. What if that next step is the one that gets you to the top of the mountain? Sure, you’re weary, but you’re almost there! At the very worst, you’re halfway up a mountain. Did you ever think of that?

QUESTION: Where are you on your journey?

 

 

