Keeping the Faith


faithI had a great conversation with a client today that I wanted to share with you. It’s a conversation that I’ve had with other clients, but I feel it’s important to share with you. I know some of you are right where this clients is emotionally.

Client: “Do you think I’ll ever make it to where I want to get to, physically?”

Me: “Absolutely, yes.”

Client: “I’m glad you have the faith. I have the conviction and the determination, but I don’t have the faith.”

Me: “And, that’s ok. You don’t have to have the faith right now. It’s easier for me to believe, because I’ve seen people in your condition, and with your diagnosis, get better.” 

Client: “That’s good. I need you to have the faith for me.”

Me: “Don’t worry. I do.”

This client is in the middle of his battle. He’s fighting daily to get his body to respond to the menus. It’s taking time, but it’s happening. However, having been a client, I know how mentally and emotionally draining the chronic-pain battle can be. Remember, when you’re in the foxhole, it’s tough to see what’s ahead. It’s hard to see that you’re extremely close to winning the battle. All you have to do is keep firing and keep focused on the mission at hand.

This client will get there, and you will too.

QUESTION: What’s your mental approach to chronic pain?

 

 

