The 5-Most Important Things to do to Eliminate Pain: #5–Proper Nutrition


Today I’m starting a new series on what I believe to be the five most important things you need to do to eliminate pain. I’ve been thinking about this for a while and am finally pulling the trigger on writing this series.

I’ll list them in ascending order, starting with…

#5. Proper Nutrition

Real foodLet me start by saying I’m not a nutritionist. However, I’ve studied nutrition for myself and consulted several nutritionist to pick their brain about the best eating plans to follow, what to eat, what not to eat, etc. I think that makes me somewhat qualified to get you pointed in the right direction.

If you’re experiencing pain and inflammation, the first two things I would suggest eliminating from your diet are wheat and dairy. I’ve done this on two occasions. I first did it back in the summer of 2009, and my wife and I recently cut out wheat and diary again. In 2009, I was tired. I was tired of being tired. I had zero energy, and I could tell that what I was putting in my body was NOT fueling me properly. I knew it was time for a change.

I quickly found out that my lack of energy was nothing more than an inflammation response to food. That little voice inside of me had been saying it for a while, but I wasn’t listening. Once I started to listen, the proof was in the pudding. I’m sure some of you are thinking the same thing. That little voice inside (which is YOU, by the way, and you’re never wrong) is telling you that it’s time for a change. I’m convinced that more and more of us are gluten-intolerant, and I believe it’s because we are so bombarded by wheat in our diets.

If you’re looking for hard facts to prove this point, Jenny from NourishedKitchen.com has them for you:

Due to a high starch content, grains are inflammatory foods. The more refined the grain, the more inflammatory it is. For example, unbleached white flour is more inflammatory than whole grain flour; however, whole grains are still moderately inflammatory foods and certainly more inflammatory than other foods like fresh vegetables and wholesome fats.   Chronic inflammation is linked to a myriad of degenerative, modern diseases including arthritis, allergies, asthma, cardiovascular disease, bone loss, emotional imbalance and even cancer.   Unbleached white flour earns an inflammation factor of -421 or strongly inflammatory on NutritionData.com while whole wheat flour earns an inflammation factor of -247 or moderately inflammatory.   Similarly, whole cooked millet earns an inflammation factor of -150 and cooked brown rice earns an inflammation factor of -143 – also moderately inflammatory.

In simple terms, wheat is one, big, fat, giant, ball of inflammation in your body. Pretty simple, really. If you’re hurting? Eliminate wheat for a week and see what changes. If you think you can’t do it, you’re not giving yourself enough credit.

The other thing I would immediately cut out of your diet is dairy. Dairy is an extremely acidic food, and acidic foods cause inflammation in the body. The body is designed to be pH neutral, not too acidic and not too alkaline. Unfortunately, the vast majority of us are chronically acidic due to the increased amount of processed foods, fast foods, and genetically modified foods we are consuming. It’s crucial that you get your body as close to pH-neutral as possible, and one of the quickest ways to do that is via dairy elimination.

If you’re looking to eliminate pain, I would suggest checking out these valuable resources:

The pH Miracle (book by Dr. Robert Young)

The ABC’s of Super Foods (by Egoscue Nashville client, Calie Shackleford, broccolicupcake.com)

The Real Food Diet (by Egoscue Nashville client, Dr. Josh Axe, draxe.com)

Middle Tennessee Center for Alternative Medicine

Any books by Michael Pollan

Dr. Andrew Weil’s Anti-Inflammatory Diet

These are a few places that I have, and would, turn for great information on what to put in your body. The cleaner the diet, the cleaner the bill of health!

QUESTION: Have you tried an anti-inflammatory diet?

Don’t forget to share this in your social media circles!

 

 

