Five Simple Ways to Eliminate Fatigue


Are you tired all the time? Do you feel like you’re never “caught up” on sleep? I know the feeling. About two years ago, I was tired. All the time. And it wasn’t just the I-need-a-quick-afternoon-nap kind of tired. It was the I-can’t-keep-my-eyes-open kind of tired. I was sluggish, and I could tell my body was operating extremely slowly.

In an attempt to get to the root cause of my fatigue, I made several changes, including seeking out the help of a nutritionist, a friend and colleague of mine in the health & wellness field.

Here are some of the changes that I made, and some things for you to focus on as well:

1. Posture

As I blogged last week, your posture has a huge impact on your metabolism. The two are inextricably linked. Your metabolism will only be as good as your posture is. Period. The better the posture, the higher the metabolism, and the more energy you have. The poorer the posture, the slower the metabolism, and the less energy you have. It’s pretty simple, really.

The key for me in this area was rededicating myself to doing Egoscue daily. While I was still pretty consistent with my menus (what we at Egoscue call your exercise routine), I wasn’t doing it daily. I was getting to it four to five days per week, on a good week. I can honestly say that I’m much more consistent now and most weeks will have at least six days of doing my menu. Try some Egoscue e-cises for FREE by CLICKING HERE.

2. Sleep

This may sound like an obvious one, but there really is something to getting to bed early. I’m not one of those guys who can get by on four to five hours of sleep per night. I need at least six hours of sleep, but I would prefer seven to eight. I know that my body (and yours) needs time to recuperate. I’ll caution you against thinking you can burn the candle at both ends and keep it up for very long. Get sleep. Get it early. And Get it often.

4. Exercise

The more I workout, the better I feel, and the more energy I have. While that may sound like an oxymoron, reread the first point from above. Remember that the faster the metabolism, the more energy you have, and working out has a direct impact on your metabolism!

3. Diet

After consulting with my nutritionist, and experimenting with eliminating certain foods and then bringing them back in, I’ve found that gluten has a huge impact on my body. I instantly become fatigued. If my wife and I choose beer and pizza for our date night, then I have to realize that I’ll get pretty sleepy, pretty quickly. While I still enjoy those foods, I have them more sparingly, and I understand the consequences going in.

4. Supplements 

I fell off the supplements wagon for a while, but I recently got back on track taking them regularly, and they’ve made a remarkable impact on how much more energy I have. Personally, I take Vitamin D, CoQ10, Fish Oil and a digestive enzyme that contains probiotics. Let me say that this is a good combination for me. You’ll have to see how your body reacts to those and/or that combination and find what’s right for you. But I can honestly say that I noticed the difference in my energy level after just a couple days of taking them.

QUESTION: What works for YOU when it comes to fighting fatigue?

 

 

