The Mind and the Metabolism


I was conversing with a client today when he forgot what he was saying. He joking said, “Egoscue can’t do anything for my mind, can it?” 

I began to answer his question by saying, “Well…” but was cutoff.

He was so shocked that I even attempted to answer his question (so shocked that there might be a connection) that he started laughing and looked at me like I was crazy!

What he thought was nothing more than a rhetorical question actually reminded me of a conversation that I had with Pete Egoscue just last week. I was talking with Pete about a client of mine who just turned 92. Pete was asking me how the client was doing, and I told him that my client was good, but I could tell his memory wasn’t as sharp as it used to be. I explained that his memories from long ago–those about law school, his time in the Navy, and his history with the local newspaper in his town–were still in tact. He could recall anything about those times that you asked him to.

However, I explained to Pete that it was the “new” stuff that was tripping my client up. For example, while watching a basketball game one night over dinner, he asked me about seven or eight times which teams were playing and which team was wearing which jersey. He has also been known to ask me what day it is several times during our appointment.

Pete explained that my client’s metabolic system was shutting down. As his metabolism slows down, he has to work harder and harder to recall recent things (things that weren’t emblazoned in his memory bank from years of recall and story telling). Hard work requires energy, and his body just didn’t have energy to give. The memories that were in there, those of 50 to 60 years ago, didn’t require work to remember. Those were easy. He could recall those without any problem. The newer ones, however, were a different story. His metabolism is slowing, and his memory is suffering the consequences.

The key to a proper functioning metabolism is, of course, your posture–the position of the body. My client’s posture is compromised, and his body is alerting him to that fact. It’s that simple. Because of his compromised posture, the energy that he needs for memory and recall is being used elsewhere throughout his body to help with his inefficient movements. Of course, there are hydration and nutrition changes he can make to make sure he’s properly fueling his body, but the trump card here is the posture, as it dictates the metabolic rate.

So, if you’re having a hard time remembering things that you should know, take a look at your posture. Chances are, that’s where you need to start.

QUESTION: What are your thoughts on the link between your mind and your metabolism?

 

 

