The Lie You’re Believing


I hear it all the time as an excuse. It’s a word that never has a problem finding its way into conversation. It can be blamed for pain. It can be blamed for not doing what you once did. It can be blamed for not doing what you’ve always dreamt of doing. It can be blamed for your lack of hope. So, what is this one word that carries so much clout?

Age.

Three little letters that have killed the dreams of so many. Three little letters that have caused immeasurable damage. Three little letters that have let you believe a lie for a long time. 

My knee hurts because I’m old!” Really? Hmm…interesting. Please, tell me…how old is your other knee?

What? No! I couldn’t possibly climb that tree! I’m too old for that!” Really? I never said you had to climb all the way to the top. Just…climb. You determine how far off the ground you go.

No, I couldn’t possibly do that now. I’m too old!” Really? Someone should have told that to Kathy Martin, the “Running Realtor” who is setting world running records in her 60s after only getting serious about running in her 40s.

I mean, this is the way it has always been, so this is the way it will always be.” Really? How quickly we forget that if you break your leg, it doesn’t stay broken. If you cut your arm, it doesn’t stay cut. The body has an amazing ability to heal itself.

If you only have one takeaway from today’s post it should be this: Age isn’t the determining factor in your health!

QUESTION: How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were?

 

 

