Paula Deen has Diabetes


In case you haven’t heard, it was announced last week that celebrity chef, Food Network personality, and author Paula Deen was diagnosed with diabetes and has been secretly living with the condition for three years.

I know that there are a lot of folks who struggle with this disease, and please hear me when I say I am NOT wanting to sound insensitive, but I’m not totally surprised at her diagnosis. There is a lot of research that suggests diets high in calories, carbohydrates and fat are a contributor to this disease. Unfortunately, her diet is incredibly high in calories, carbohydrates, and fat. If you don’t believe me, then try serving up her infamous burger topped with an egg and bacon that is stuffed between two doughnuts. Does anyone think that’s a good idea? And I love that she calls it “The Lady’s Brunch Burger.” Come on ladies, weigh in here…would you REALLY serve that at brunch?

Another celebrity chef, Anthony Bourdain, has freely spoken his mind about Paula Deen.

“The worst, most dangerous person to America is clearly Paula Deen…If I were on at seven at night and loved by millions of people at every age, I would think twice before telling an already obese nation that it’s OK to eat food that is killing us.”

Those are obviously harsh words from Mr. Bourdain, (let me go on record and say that I think he’s extremely pompous) but I don’t think he’s too far off. As a nation, we are killing ourselves. Did you know that our kids are the first generation expected to not outlive their parents? That’s definitely an attention grabber! Yet for three years she has been living with this disease while continually pushing a diet that isn’t very beneficial for someone living with diabetes.

For me, I think the saddest part of Paula Deen’s story is the fact that she has chosen to treat her diabetes with medication rather than first changing her lifestyle and eating habits. It’s not that I think meds are a bad choice, and I realize that for some it’s their only choice, I’m just surprised to hear her say that meds are her primary option. The American Diabetes Association suggests on their website that the vast majority of the millions of people battling Type 2 Diabetes can have an impact on their condition with improved eating habits and regular exercise.

This is just personal opinion, but I’m guessing she has chosen to take meds because she is being compensated by the pharmaceutical company. This is such a HUGE opportunity for her to bring hope to others struggling with diabetes that they can (at least initially) attempt to fight this disease by adopting healthy eating habits and by exercising and losing weight (if necessary). I hate to say it, but I think Paula Deen has tragically missed the boat on this one. 

QUESTION: What are your thoughts about Paula Deen’s announcement? 

