2012: The Year Everything Ends!


Ahh…2012. Out with the old and in with the NEW! For me, the New Year is always marked by new beginnings, however, while I loved 2011, I’m really looking forward to several different things ending in 2012. In 2011 we had a great year at the Egoscue Nashville clinic, my family took its first trip to the Gulf, and I got to work with all of YOU…hands down the best clients in the entire Egoscue family. That may sounds cheesy (ok, it is), but it’s TRUE.

But in 2012 it’s time for change. It’s time for some things to end.

Unless you have been hiding under a rock, you have heard that on December 21, 2012 the world will end. Yep. Gone. Arrivederci. Sayonara. Adios. See ya later. However you want to say it. Are you nervous yet? Yeah, I didn’t think so…I’m not either. While I don’t believe for one second that the Mayans predicted the end of the world, I am jumping on the “It’s ending in 2012!” bandwagon, and I want you to come along for the ride with me…just for a moment.

In 2012 I want to end your pain. More importantly, I want YOU to end your pain. Take charge. Take control. It’s time. It’s over. Enough waiting around. I’m going to point fingers and name names here, because I want you to know that I’m talking to YOU.

To all of my FEMALE readersI’m tired of you putting off what YOU need to do, simply because you feel you first need to help others do what THEY need to do. And, don’t lie to me and tell me that you don’t do that. I have a wife, a mom, three sisters, a mother-in-law, and a sister-in-law. I KNOW that’s what happens.

To all of my MALE readersI’m tired of you being “tough” because you think being in pain is somehow synonymous with being weak. First of all, not true. Second of all, who cares? Stop being so hardheaded and get your butt in the clinic! Life will be better for you, I PROMISE! And as a result, life will be better for those people around you who have to put up with you being in pain. Trust me, I’m a guy…I know how we work. (And all the wives said, “Amen!”)

To all of my ATHLETE readers: I’m tired of you getting less than 100% from your body. Why would you want to play your sport with anything less than your full potential? This is especially true for those if you who are getting paid to play a sport. As a fan, you’re ripping us off. We pay our hard-earned money to watch you play, and you go on the injury list because your back spasmed during a violent sneeze? It’s time to put an end to the thievery. Do us a favor and get functional. You’ll thank me for it when you add years onto your playing career and put millions more in your bank account.

To all of my NON-ATHLETE readers: Just because you don’t get paid to play doesn’t mean you aren’t “special enough” to be pain free and enjoy life. Athletes (and I’m grouping those who run, golf, etc. recreationally into the ‘athlete’ group) make up about 20% of our total clientele, so you’re actually in the majority.

To all of my “OLD” readers: Welcome to the party! Better late than never! You’re NEVER too old to start reversing the pain process. NEVER. The oldest clients I’ve worked with is now in her late 90s, and I see a 91 year old client every-other week. He told me he does his exercise menu, “every day…four days a week!” When will YOU take control and take back your health? I vote for 2012. Once you start, you’ll wish you’d started years ago, but don’t worry about that. Just start.

To all of my “YOUNG” readers: Please listen to the “old” clients after they begin working with Egoscue and comment that they wish they would have started this years ago! Don’t put off pain relief just because you feel like you’re “too young” to have any problems. The youngest client I’ve ever had in-clinic was 21 months old. Are you younger than that? If not…then it’s time to start. Ten years from now you’ll be thanking yourself and commenting how glad you are that you started Egoscue years ago. Set yourself up for a lifetime of living pain free!

To all of my readers who “DON’T HAVE ENOUGH TIME”: Yes you do. We all do. Try multitasking–it IS possible to watch ‘Survivor’ and do your menu at the same time. Promise.

To all of the “PESSIMIST” readers: Let’s agree that 2012 is the year when you finally allow yourself to get pain free. I’ll encourage you to change your perception and perspective just a bit. Begin to view the glass as half full instead of half empty. Instead of making blanket statements such as “I hurt,” start to tune in to your body. If you still hurt, is it in the same place, with the same intensity and come at the exact same time (or from doing the exact same motion) every day? By tuning in, I believe you would find that your pain isn’t necessarily the same from day-to-day. You would also realize what parts of your body aren’t hurting. By taking a half-full approach, you’ll begin to change your mentality, and I believe your pain would instantly decrease. Don’t get me wrong, there have been times when you started to scratch the surface of allowing yourself to get pain free. There was that one time when you started the conversation with, “Well, I’ve certainly been worse!, which got me thinking we were making progress, only to finish that sentence by saying, “But I’ve also been better!”  You were so close! Please change your mind this year. And please, PLEASE don’t put all of your “get-out-of-pain” eggs in the “The-world-is-ending-in-December-so-what’s-it matter?” basket. It’s really not a good idea.

While there were definitely other categories that I could have included, I’m guessing the vast majority of you will be able to put yourself in one of these groups. Please hear me–my goal in writing this isn’t to ridicule you. It’s to let you know that you aren’t alone. If one of these groups resonated with you, I guarantee you are are many others who are reading and thinking the same thing you are. Let’s put an end to your pain!

And, think about it…if these are our last days on earth, why NOT enjoy them pain free? With all the looting and rioting that will be taking place in the days leading up to December 21st, you OWE it to yourself to be able to carry that newly stolen TV free of pain and limitations. How embarrassing would it be to have to ask your friend to carry the TV that you so desperately want to loot? Can you imagine the humiliation?

But more importantly, when we are all here on December 22nd, and everyone has breathed a collective sigh of relief, you OWE it to yourself to be able to enjoy your time here on Earth. December 22nd is a Saturday. What better way to start your weekend than being pain free? I can’t think of anything better!

QUESTION: What will YOU Do in 2012 to eliminate YOUR pain?

