How Determined are YOU to Eliminate Your Pain?


“It’s not whether you get knocked down, it’s whether you get back up.” — Vince Lombardi

I had an interesting conversation with a client this morning. She is, like most clients, fighting the negative voices in her head that are asking things like, “Is Egoscue the right place for me?”, “Is this working?”,  and “Can my body heal?”

While she didn’t come out and directly ask me those questions, she did ask…“How long does this process take?” 

It’s a question that we get asked all the time. Fortunately, as I’ve grown as a therapist over the years I’ve been able to better interpret what they client was truly trying to communicate. When she asked me that this morning, what I actually heard was, “I’m scared.” I believe that she is scared that her body won’t heal. That her body can’t heal. As we start to unwind her body, we are waking up some muscles that haven’t worked in a while, and she’s experiencing some new aches and soreness that she isn’t used to feeling and is currently interpreting the new pain as “bad pain.” While I don’t typically label pains as “good” or “bad,” I know how easy it is to do. We have been conditioned to respond with a big ol’ “UH-OH!” at the first onset of an ache or pain. It’s a similar response when we see the “check engine” light come on–“UH-OH! Surely my engine is on the brink of exploding as I’m driving 80 MPH down the highway!” But what if it’s not? What if it’s something simple, like “new muscle work”? What if, like in my Honda, it’s simply an indicator that you didn’t tighten the gas cap hard enough?

What a lot of our clients forget is that no one said that getting pain free would be painless. As the body changes, you just might wake up some sleeping muscles. And, some of those sleeping muscles might be more along the lines of sleeping giants. They might hurt, and you might get mentally and emotionally “knocked down,” but how will you respond? Will you get back up? Will you do your menu again the next day knowing that you were sore and hurting today? Keep those words from Coach Lombardi in mind when you start to hurt. Instead of giving in to the fear, take a step back, take a deep breath, and ask, “What’s my body trying to tell me?” Just like the indicator light on your dashboard, your body is alerting you to the fact that something isn’t quite right. The good news is that it could be something as simple as tightening your gas cap!

If you need some inspiration to get back up, watch this video of Heather Dorniden (she’s married now and is Heather Kampf) as a member of the University of Minnesota track team. I bet she’s glad she got back up…

 

 

QUESTION:  Have you been knocked down during your Egoscue journey? More importantly…did you get back up?

 

 

 

