I Can’t Sleep!


Every week I talk with someone who is having trouble sleeping. Either they can’t get to sleep or they can’t sleep through the night without waking every couple of hours. I had one client who would wake up every morning at 3:30 and not be able to go back to sleep. I, myself have tossed and turned on occasion and it drove me crazy. I can’t imagine having to deal with sleeplessness night in and night out. But did you know that you can naturally change your body’s ability to rest?

When I talk with clients about their insomnia, there’s always one e-cise I recommend: Static Back. If you aren’t familiar with Static Back, I can almost guarantee that it will become your favorite e-cise. It’s easy to do and extremely relaxing. I’ve yet to have one client tell me that “it doesn’t feel good,” or that they “don’t like it.”

For all of my insomniac clients, I suggest they get down in the Static Back position for 20-30 minutes right before they go to bed. And I suggest the same thing for you, too. Be sure to leave your comments below to tell everyone how great it feels to finally sleep through the night!

 

STATIC BACK

SETS: 1       DURATION: 20:00 – 30:00 immediately before bed

1. Lie on your back with your legs up over a block or chair
2. Place your arms out to the sides at 45 degrees from your body with palms up
3. Relax your upper back and notice if your low back flattens to the floor evenly from left to right
4. Hold this position as directed on your menu

Oh…and about that client who was waking up at 3:30 every morning? The night after her first appointment she slept until 5:30! I promise, this will work.

QUESTION: After doing Static Back for a few days, what’s different about how you’re sleeping?

 

 

 

