Our Active Vacation


My wife and I recently took a trip to California for some meetings with our Egoscue family in San Diego. We spent the first part of our trip in Sonoma (which was amazing) and San Francisco. We wanted to really soak in what those areas had to offer, so we decided to spend very little time in the car. We rented a house in Sonoma and were fortunate enough to have beach cruiser bikes to use while there. We biked from winery to winery, and let me just say say, that that is the ONLY way to see Sonoma. All the wineries are extremely close together and (unlike Tennessee) there aren’t too many hills!

Check out the bikes we were riding!

After a couple days in Sonoma we headed to San Francisco. If there’s ever a city that requires a lot of walking, San Francisco is it! The hills were brutal, but the views were breathtaking.

Of course, no trip to San Fran is complete without a visit to the Golden Gate Bridge. My wife and I decided to run it one morning when we were there, and I wanted to give you a glimpse of our pre-running menu that we did before heading out. Part of my menu consisted of a Downward Dog:

And some Donkey Kicks off the picnic table:

My wife mixed in a Spread-foot Counter Stretch:

We had a great time and are definitely planning a return trip to Sonoma! We loved being able to get out and explore our surrounds while staying active.

Do you have any favorite vacations? Were you able to stay active while doing it? I’d love to hear your experience.


