Biking Wards Off Weight Gain


Looking to shed a few pounds? Or, at least prevent gaining those few extra pounds? Biking may be your answer. According to study results, even 5 minutes per day is said to prevent 1.5 pounds of weight gain. Health.com recently published a study where they followed 18,000 premenopausal women for 16 years. During that time, the women gained an average of 20.5 pounds.

Women who started biking for just five minutes a day gained about 1.5 fewer pounds over the course of the study than similar women who didn’t take up biking, the researchers found. Women who increased their daily biking by 30 minutes during the study kept even more weight off, gaining about 3.5 fewer pounds than those whose biking habits stayed the same.

I know a lot of us are crunched for time, and may not have the financial resources available to lose the weight that we need to lose (or at least maintain our current weight and prevent weight gain). Gyms can be expensive, overcrowded and intimidating. I believe biking is a great option if you fit into either of those groups. I’ve found some killer bike deals on Craigslist, and you can too. I’m actually getting more into cycling. Last weekend I purchased my first road bike and am getting into triathlons. I’ve had a mountain bike for years and have done some adventure racing with it. I just love being out there.

Biking isn’t the only way to exercise with limited time and on a limited budget. I think BURST Training is a great way to get in shape, lose weight, tone up, etc. I would strongly recommend contacting Nathan and Jenni Oates and pick their brain about BURST. Their websites have a TON of great info about how to get healthy and stay healthy!

The most important thing to remember is to keep moving! What’s your activity of choice? Any other cyclists out there? Anyone else doing BURST? Leave a comment and tell me what works for you.

