In Honor of Martin Luther King, Jr.


Today is MLK Day, and I can’t think of a better way to honor Dr. King than to watch his speech again and reflect on those powerful words that he delivered from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial.

I’m somewhat of an American history junkie, and it baffles me to think that the Civil Rights Movement was such a short time ago. Doesn’t seem like it’s been that long, because it hasn’t been. Dr. King was a trailblazer. A risk-taker. Most of all, a leader.

I have to share a great post that I read this morning. There is such great wisdom in it.

Please do yourself a favor and read Michael Hyatt’s “Eight Leadership Lessons from Martin Luther King, Jr.” Michael is the CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers here in Nashville. Thomas Nelson Publishers is the largest Christian publishing company in the world and the seventh largest trade book publishing company in the U.S. It’s a great company with a great mission and from what I can tell through his writing, a great leader.

I love what Michael had to say about Dr. King’s speech:
I have only scratched the surface. This speech is full of lessons and deserves careful study. I would encourage you, in the spirit of this holiday, to sit down with your family and watch the entire speech. It is less than eighteen minutes long. It will change forever the way you understand Martin Luther King Day.

I couldn’t agree more. Sit down tonight and reflect on Dr. King’s words. I can’t wait until my son is old enough to understand the ramifications the words that were spoken on that day.

