Adventure Racing


I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted to my blog, and I apologize about that. Hopefully I have a good reason. I’m in the middle of training for a 24-hour adventure race. It’s about 3 1/2 weeks away now, and I’m feeling the time crunch! If you’re not familiar with adventure racing, it’s a race of varying length (this one happens to be 24 hours) and usually includes multiple disciplines. The upcoming race is approximately 75 miles long and includes mountain biking, canoing, swimming and orienteering/navigation. It’s the Goldrush 24 Hour race out of Woodstock, GA.

So, you’re probably wondering what provoked me to do such a crazy thing. The answer is actually a number. Three…..Zero……30. I’m turning 30 in August and wanted to push myself a little bit. The spring before I turned 25 I ran my first (and last) marathon. I’ve wanted to do an AR for some time and decided that this was the year to do so. The only problem with that plan is that the only race that worked out with my schedule and wasn’t too expensive was a 24 hour one. Ugh. Just my luck. But, through all of this I somehow managed to wrangle my buddy Graham to race with me. So on August 2nd, team “Only 23 Hours to Go” will head off into the woods around Woodstock, GA at 8:00 PM. On August 3rd, we’ll hopefully return! I’ll keep you all posted.

Check out the official race website here.

