Another Egoscue Article


This one is from the Pacifica Tribune. Pacifica, CA recently celebrated “TV turn off Week” and encouraged their readers to get up from in front of the TV and get outside! In the section of the article on “TV and Obesity” there is a GREAT quote from Pete. Let me say upfront that I LOVE TV. The only person I know who loves TV more than I do is my best friend Chance. The two of us together can burn through a lot of TiVo’d stuff in a very short amount of time. But, with that being said……

Childhood obesity strikes a chord with me. I think it’s awful. I think it’s a sad look into the life of an eight year old who weighs 100 pounds. It really infuriates me when I see I child who is obese. Please understand that I’m not mad at the child, but instead upset with the parents. The parents are basically telling their child that it’s acceptable to be unhealthy. Americans have enough trouble battling the bulge. We don’t need the problem to start in childhood. Mom, dad, get the junk food out of your kid’s hand and give him or her an orange or banana instead. Pry them away from “Halo 3” online, and take the game outside. And, I don’t mean set up the X-Box 360 outside. I’m talking about actually playing. Getting them to not only physically use their body, but get them using their imagination, too. Ask them not only to play a game, but to make one up. Create the rules. Create the dos and don’ts. When I was a kid, I lived not too far from some seldom used railroad tracks. My buddies and I would play war, hide-and-seek, we’d pretend we were BMX champions on our Huffy bikes….you name it, we did it. My mom and dad wouldn’t let us have a Nintendo, and looking back now, it was a VERY smart decision. I had a bulging disc in my lower back at the age of 14, and I was an extremely active kid. Can you imagine how bad off I would have been if I had been sedentary during those early (and extremely crucial) developmental years? I can’t imaging playing video games from the age of 4 or 5 and then trying to ride my bike at age 12. That would have been a huge disaster waiting to happen.

OK, I’m off my soapbox (at least for now). The bottom line is, get out, get moving, and have fun! Turn off the TV and you’ll see how much fun it really is!

